

Tourism House, 17 Trevenna Street, Sunnyside. Private Bag X 424, PRETORIA · 0001 Tel + 27 (0) 12 444 6000 · Fax + 27 (0) 12 444 7000. Call Center: 0860 121 929

Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) tourism ministers to meet in Port Elizabeth

09 October 2018

SOUTH AFRICA - Tourism Ministers from the member states of the Indian Ocean Rim Association (IORA) will gather in Port Elizabeth (Eastern Cape) to finalise processes towards the establishment a Core Group that will inform the implementation of tourism initiatives within the Association.

Chaired by South Africa, the 2nd IORA Tourism Ministers Meeting will finalise the Terms of Reference for the IORA Tourism Core Group that will govern the implementation of vital tourism projects under the IORA Action Plan (2017 – 2021). It is envisioned that the IORA Action Plan will lead to advancements in cruise tourism; the establishment of an IORA Tourism Resource Centre and Website, and the development of capacity building community-based tourism projects that will boost cultural and eco-tourism, and ultimately reduce poverty.

<u>Background:</u> IORA was established in 1997 and it seeks to expand understanding and mutual beneficial co-operation through the principles of sovereign equality, territorial integrity, political independence, non-interference in internal affairs, peaceful coexistence, and mutual benefit.

South Africa is the current chair (from October 2017 until October 2019) for the twenty-one (21) Member state association derived from four regions namely - Southern Africa and Eastern Africa; the Gulf; South Asia and the South Eastern Indian Ocean.

Whilst not members, the United State of America, United Kingdom, Germany, Egypt, France, Japan and China are regarded as seven dialogue partners, and continue to offer technical cooperation support to the agenda and work programme of the association.

MEMBERS OF THE MEDIA ARE INVITED TO ATTEND THE OPENING CEREMONY AS FOLLOWS:

OPENING CEREMONY - 2ND IORA TOURISM MINISTERS MEETING

Date: Tuesday, 23 October 2018

Venue: Sun Boardwalk International Convention Centre - Port Elizabeth,

Eastern Cape Province, South Africa

Time: 11h15 for 11h30

PROGRAMME: OFFICIAL OPENING - 2ND IORA TOURISM MINISTERS MEETING	
11h15 – 11h30	Media Registration
11h30 – 11h45	Opening remarks by IORA Chairperson - Minister of Tourism Mr Derek Hanekom - South Africa
11h45 – 12h00	Remarks by IORA Vice Chair - H.E. Sultan Bin Saeed Al Mansoori - United Arab Emirates (UAE)
12h15 – 12h30	Remarks by IORA Secretariat - IORA Secretary-General, Dr Nomvuyo Nokwe
12h30 – 12h45	Welcome by the MEC of the Eastern Cape Province – Mr. Lubabalo Oscar Mabuyane
12h45 - 13h00	Photo opportunity - Ministers and Heads of Delegation

<u>Kindly Note:</u> Only media who have received written confirmation of accreditation from the

Department of Tourism will be allowed to attend the event.

Kindly confirm your attendance by 12 October 2018 [Time: 12h00] to

Ms. Sindi Zwane

Tel: 012 444 6612/ 081 267 4665 E-mail:szwane@tourism.gov.za

Media are required to provide the following information for accreditation: Family Name/ Surname: Full First Name: Initials: Title: Organisation: Function: Gender: ID Number (Compulsory for South Africans): Passport Number (Only for Foreign Nationals): Date Birth Date (Compulsory for Foreign Nationals only): Country of Issue (Compulsory for Foreign Nationals only):

Department of tourism website: www.tourism.gov.za

Passport Expiry Date (Compulsory for Foreign Nationals only):